Sunday, 1 March 2020

Deadeye- Stewart Giles- Crime                         
DS Jason Smith has his hands full as there has been a murder in the local park. A man has
been shot however from the damage caused and the accuracy of it, this isn’t a normal gun.
Alternate chapters take us to Afghanistan several years beforehand where one of the men
has just learnt he is to be a father. They take on the Taliban in a battle and his friend sees
a sniper but does nothing and the father to be gets hit. Jason is still fighting his own battles
still being separated from his wife and daughter. He is now doing everything he can to win
them back, knowing the error of his ways. When a further victim is found someone has
them literally in their sights, but why and most importantly who? Jason is his normal self
and doesn’t take things lying down especially when something doesn’t feel quite right.
I like Jason and his tenacity, he can be an awkward so-and-so but definitely someone
you would want on your side. A cleverly thought out plot and wonderful characters
and a little humour along the way. Brilliant! Love it and very much look forward
to the next in the series.
For more reviews please see my blog

or follow me on Twitter@nickisbookblog

DEADEYE, Detective Jason Smith book 12 From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series. When a man is shot dead in a park not far from where Detective Jason Smith lives, Smith takes it personally. The man was killed in a precise and cold manner. Then, when another victim turns up - also killed with absolute precision, Smith realizes he's on the trail of a killer who will stop at nothing. Fighting against his team, Smith will have to dig harder than he's ever dug before to stop the worst killer York has ever seen. THE SETTING At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination. THE DETECTIVE DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures. However, he does get results. BOOKS BY STEWART GILES DS JASON SMITH SERIES Book 0.5-Phobia Book 1-Smith Book 2-Boomerang Book 3-Ladybird Book 4-Occam’s Razor Book 5-Harlequin Book 6-Selene Book 7-Horsemen Book 8-Unworthy Book 9 – Venom Book 10 - Severed Book 11 - Demons Book 12 - Deadeye DC HARRIET TAYLOR SERIES Book 1-The Beekeeper Book 2-The Perfect Murder Book 3-The Backpacker Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3 DS JASON SMITH &DC HARRIET TAYLOR SERIES Book 1 - The Enigma Book 2 - Dropzone PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLERS Miranda Mistress
Stewart Giles – Author Bio After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later. 3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series - the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series. The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results. I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018. After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor. Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019. The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye will be published in February 2020. Website: Twitter: @stewartgiles Facebook:

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Note

The Note- Andrew Barrett- 5* A short story written in the first person by CSI Eddie Collins. Eddie is the sort of bloke who calls a s...