Sunday, 3 January 2021

 














The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins -psychological thriller

Jane, not her real name, has created a new persona for herself to get away

from her past. A past of trauma and fostering that she would really not think

about. By chance she is given an opportunity to dog walk in a much nicer area

than where she lives and through this she meets Eddie. Eddie’s wife Bea

disappeared at the same time her long time friend died. They were together

on a boat and only one body was found.Occasional chapters give us some

of Bea’s story and it didn't finish with the boating accident. Jane is longing

for security and to be free from thinking where the next meal comes from-

she previously supplemented her income with trinkets from the houses she

worked in and very often pawned them to pay her rent. She has a secret

from her past and someone she doesn't want to find her- what and who

we don’t know. A story to tantalise you and one certainly to keep the grey

matter active. I really enjoyed this and fair raced through to find out the

who’s and why’s. A new author to me and certainly one to look out for-

I love where a book takes to you a place of uncertainty and plays with

your mind a little- and this one very much does that. A cleverly

thought out concept, one gripping read.

For more reviews please see my blog http://nickibookblog.blogspot.co.uk/

or follow me on Twitter@nickisbookblog

----------------------------------

An addictive contemporary domestic noir re-telling of Jane Eyre that will cross over to fans of both crime/thriller and women’s fiction. • Rachel is the author of eleven books for young readers, including the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series. Her 2018 YA release, Royals, is under option for TV development. This is her first novel for adults. • Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks.



I was completely blown away by The Wife Upstairs. This is a compulsive,

irresistible retelling of Jane Eyre with a]modern, noir twist – and wow,

does it work’ Samantha Downing, bestselling author of My Lovely Wife

A girl looking for love… When Jane, a broke dog-walker newly arrived in town, meets Eddie Rochester, she can’t believe her luck. Eddie is handsome, rich and lives alone in a beautiful mansion since the tragic death of his beloved wife a year ago. A man who seems perfect… Eddie can give Jane everything she’s always wanted: stability, acceptance, and a picture-perfect life. A wife who just won’t stay buried… But what Jane doesn’t know is that Eddie is keeping a secret – a big secret. And when the truth comes out, the consequences are far more deadly than anyone could ever have imagined…

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs is perfect for fans of

Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware and Shari Lapena.







1 comment:

The Note

The Note- Andrew Barrett- 5* A short story written in the first person by CSI Eddie Collins. Eddie is the sort of bloke who calls a s...