Saturday, 16 October 2021


Fear on the Fens- Joy Ellis- Crime

DI Nikki Galena and DS Joseph Easter are back with a rather strange and

intriguing case. Some youngsters set fire to an arbour and destroyed a tree.

A day or so later the ringleader is found burnt to death in a wheelbarrow

over the tree stump. Twenty years ago a family was torn apart by a father

who killed their gardener and then killed himself. Shortly afterwards the

younger brother despite being only thirteen, upped sticks and left home-

to where no one knows. Now his brother has heard from him and is

worried about his mental health and that he could be a danger to others as

half the time he lives in his own fantasy world- something Nikki can’t quite

get her head around. 

Another cracker of a read from Joy with characters that you can't help but

like. A good solid interesting plot and one of a very different nature in more

ways than one. A brilliantly entertaining read. I so love this series- I always

know that within a few pages I will be swaddled  between the pages

amongst friends.A slightly longer read for this one  of around 400 pages

where there are twists and turns along the way. We know who the

perpetrator is this time, but catching him is another matter, especially when

hands are tied due to something with his father and possibly the Stargate

project and remote viewing. I learnt something- I'd not come across this

before- very interesting. A masterly piece of writing so very cleverly

thought out and crafted together. Stunning doesn't come close.

For more reviews please see my blog

or follow me on Twitter@nickisbookblog


FEAR ON THE FENS (Nikki Galena #13) by Joy Ellis FROM TWO-MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR JOY ELLIS COMES ONE OF THE MOST EAGERLY AWAITED MYSTERIES THIS YEAR. Now. In the beautiful gardens of Shelley House a shocking discovery is made. A blackened hand dangles over the side of a wheelbarrow. The horrific scent of burnt flesh lingers in the air. Detective Nikki Galena and Joseph Easter are called in to investigate. Twenty years ago. A family destroyed by tragic secrets. The scientist father who killed their gardener, before being murdered himself. The brother who disappeared, never to be seen again. Until now? Nikki and Joseph must find a man who’s been missing for two decades and unravel the painful past of a broken family before anyone else dies. GRIPPING FROM BEGINNING TO STUNNING CONCLUSION. Joy Ellis was nominated for audiobook of the year at the British Book Awards 2019 and Crime and Thriller Book of the Year at the British Book Awards 2021 for The Patient Man. This totally gripping mystery is perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Peter May, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, J.M. Dalgliesh, Elly Griffiths or Ann Cleeves. What readers are saying about Joy Ellis:  “Just wonderful to read.” Carole  “Riveting tale from start to finish.” Lynne “Holds the reader’s attention from the first word to the last.” Nicki R. “Compulsive reading, I loved it.” Viv “Absolutely engrossing.” Olga “Brilliant book which kept me gripped from page 1.” Barbara THE DETECTIVE DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team. THE SETTING The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen. DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW. ALSO BY JOY ELLIS THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS Book 8: THIEVES ON THE FENS Book 9: FIRE ON THE FENS Book 10: DARKNESS ON THE FENS Book 11: HIDDEN ON THE FENS Book 12: SECRETS ON THE FENS Book 13: FEAR ON THE FENS

JOY ELLIS UK #1 BEST SELLER WITH THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS, DARKNESS ON THE FENS, THE FOURTH FRIEND, BEWARE THE PAST, FIRE ON THE FENS, AND THE GUILTY ONES OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD! "I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss! And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, a highly decorated retired police officer, and our four barking mad Springer spaniels. If I do get any spare time, which is rare these days, my one relaxation is painting, especially using soft pastels. We have been here for twenty years now and although I’ll never be a true ‘Yeller Belly’, a native born to this county, I have adopted it as my own. I love the mists, the big skies and the endless waterways. All my books are set here on the Fens, and why not? The location is perfect for murder!” BOOKS BY JOY ELLIS DI NIKKI GALENA SERIES: CRIME ON THE FENS SHADOW OVER THE FENS HUNTED ON THE FENS KILLER ON THE FENS STALKER ON THE FENS CAPTIVE ON THE FENS BURIED ON THE FENS THIEVES ON THE FENS FIRE ON THE FENS DARKNESS ON THE FENS HIDDEN ON THE FENS NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 1-3 NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 4-6 NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 7-9 JACKMAN & EVANS SERIES: THE MURDERER’S SON THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS FOURTH FRIEND THE GUILTY ONES THE STOLEN BOYS THE PATIENT MAN MATT BALLARD SERIES: BEWARE THE PAST FIVE BLOODY HEARTS STANDALONE NOVELS: GUIDE STAR FIND JOY ON AUTHOR WEBSITE FACEBOOK GOODREADS

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Note

The Note- Andrew Barrett- 5* A short story written in the first person by CSI Eddie Collins. Eddie is the sort of bloke who calls a s...