Thursday, 1 November 2018






Christmas with the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry


This is a very different read for me as I don’t usually do “historical” novels. Something
about it grabbed my attention. A cheerful cover, a feeling of that togetherness amongst
friends and perhaps to learn a little history along the way. The three women- Frankie,
Winnie and Bella work for the London ambulance service and although the Blitz has
finished, they are on standby for anything that might now happen.Winnie has just
seen her husband off as he is in the bomb disposal squad. This is the third in the series
but happily stands alone. This was my first read of the series and so didn’t know what
to expect and was pleasantly surprised. A story of the war and all that it brings. For
a town, a city, a country. A man , a woman a community. A very different way of life
and pulling together against the enemy in whatever form that may mean. A concert
to raise funds for the POW parcels, carol singing at the hospital. parcel packing, mending
and making do, rationing and the worries of war.  An entertaining read. I think this will
appeal to readers of all ages. The older ones who remember those time to those of us
who don’t and find a read like this interesting. Perhaps the perfect Christmas gift?
For more reviews please see my blog http://nickibookblog.blogspot.co.uk/

or follow me on Twitter @nickijmurphy1











Christmas with the East End Angels

It's the most wonderful time of the year - and the East End Angels are working hard to keep Londoners safe.
Frankie is trying hard to keep everything together. She can count on the support of the East End Angels, even in the face of family trouble.
Winnie's beloved husband, Mac, is putting himself at risk every day in the bomb disposal unit and she's finding it hard while he's away.
Bella is growing in confidence and happiness. Her friendship with Winnie's brother, James, is getting closer all the time.
Christmas on the Home Front is a hard time with loved ones far away - but the women of the Auxiliary Ambulance service are making do and mending.
A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Purchase Links
Amazon UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-East-Angels-Rosie-Hendry-ebook/dp/B07CLL56W9
Amazon US - https://www.amazon.com/Christmas-East-Angels-Rosie-Hendry-ebook/dp/B07CLL56W9



Author Bio – Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She's worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women's magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she's especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she's not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

    Website: www.rosiehendry.com





 Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitter - https://twitter.com/hendry_rosie

2 comments:

  1. Thank you for taking part in the blog tour, Niki, it’s very much appreciated.

    ReplyDelete

The Note

The Note- Andrew Barrett- 5* A short story written in the first person by CSI Eddie Collins. Eddie is the sort of bloke who calls a s...