Saturday, 23 March 2019


42075145

The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl- Historical/present day mystery
Set across two timelines in Ireland this tells of the beginning of the struggle for
independence in two very different ways. In 1919  Mary- Ellen goes to work at
the big house where a wealthy English widow lives. She sees her boyfriend on her
day off who lives at Clonamurty farm, and he is a keen fighter for the cause. 100
years later, Clare Farrell  has decided to leave her controlling husband and take up
residence in the house left to her by her uncle. Her husband really doesn’t think
that she will manage and who is going to be there when the postman calls and to
make his tea? Clare begins to embrace her new found freedom and put her talents
to work- some she never knew she had. I’m not normally into historical novels
but this one somehow drew me. Maybe the air of mystery and the likeability of
the two main female characters. I really took to Clare and Ellen (as she liked
to be known). The determination of both of them in very different ways and
the strength of character was admirable. I learnt some history along the way
too- an easy and wonderful way to do it. I really enjoyed reading this.
Something interesting , something different and a wonderful story.
For more reviews please see my blog http://nickibookblog.blogspot.co.uk/
or follow me on Twitter @nickijmurphy1

Amazon Top 1000 reviewer.


The Forgotten Secret
A country at war
It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.
And a long-buried secret
A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.









Purchase Links
UK  - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3
US  - https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3



Author Bio –
Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.
Social Media Links –
Website:  https://kathleenmcgurl.com/
Twitter: @KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl/



Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kathleenmcgurl/

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Note

The Note- Andrew Barrett- 5* A short story written in the first person by CSI Eddie Collins. Eddie is the sort of bloke who calls a s...